Beginnings

Based on the initial observation that very few children go to the school in rural areas around the city of Kisangani, in the Eastern Province of the Democratic Republic of Congo, AK asbl has set itself the goal of providing schooling for a good population of children

The association took the initiative to build a school complex "Mère Térésa de Calcutta" to provide schooling education for young children welcomed in the school, but also to finance the educational supervision of children by scholared professors from the country's universities.

In the face of the extreme poverty of some families, AK asbl decided that the lack of financial means should not be an obstacle to access education ans schooling.

And to meet the difficulties faced by families, mainly the cost of schooling and the fact that parents lose with the schooling of the child a significant labor for agricultural work, AK asbl offers free school fees to the poorest families and offers half-day schooling for five days a week (compensation).

Beyond the educational piece, the beneficial side of a school environment is the learning of hygiene rules and health care.

A positive impact of the education of children, and espacially girls, has repercussions both in the short term on their families but also, in the long term, on their future life both at home and at work.

 

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now

Origines

Partant du constat de départ que très peu d'enfants vont à l'école dans les milieux ruraux aux abords de la ville de Kisangani, dans la Province Orientale de la République Démocratique du Congo, AK asbl s'est fixé comme objectif de scolariser un grand nombre d'entre eux.

L'association a pris l'initiative de construire une école « Le complexe scolaire Mère Térésa de Calcutta », d'assurer l'éducation scolaire des jeunes enfants accueillis dans l'école, mais également de financer l'encadrement pédagogique des enfants par des professeurs diplômés des universités du pays.

Face à l'extrême pauvreté de certaines familles, AK asbl a estimé que le manque de moyens financiers ne devait pas être un obstacle pour l'accès à la scolarité.  

Et pour contrer les difficultés rencontrées par les familles, à savoir essentiellement le coût de la scolarité et le fait que les parents perdent avec la scolarisation de l'enfant une main-d'oeuvre non négligeable pour les travaux agricoles, AK asbl offre la gratuité des frais scolaires aux familles les plus démunies et propose comme période scolaire la moitié de la journée pendant cinq jours par semaine (compensation).

Au-delà de l'instruction, le côté bénéfique de l'environnement scolaire se traduit par l'apprentissage des règles d'hygiène et par des soins de santé.  

 

Un impact positif de l'instruction des enfants, et notamment des filles, se répercute à la fois dans le court terme sur leurs familles mais également, à long terme, sur leur vie future tant au niveau familial que professionnel.

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now